Reading Raven (Level 1): Wild Pirate Adventures

Leserabe - 1. Lesestufe: Wilde Piratenabenteuer

View all books in the series

  • 1st grade and up
  • Simple texts provide an immediate sense of achievement
  • Includes reward stickers
48 pp 6 years + 17,6 x 24 cm EUR 8.99 May 2022 Hardcover 978-3-473-46215-5 • With stickers.


A desert island, a buried treasure … but where could the pirates have hidden it? Luckily, two clever pirate children are on board and manage to find the answer. Three additional stories also await.

About the Series

The Reading Raven series is designed to encourage beginning readers by providing fun and exciting stories at each ability level, from their first efforts at reading alone to more advanced chapter books Each Reading Raven book includes reading riddles, puzzles to solve using information in the story. This is a fun way to check how well children understand what they read. The first level features short texts with lots of pictures that provide clues to the story's meaning. These books are written in extra-large print. When children are ready for longer stories, the second level of Reading Raven offers short chapter books, also in large print with illustrations that help readers follow the text. The third level is for readers who are becoming proficient, with longer chapters and increasingly complex stories, but still with accompanying pictures and highly readable print.

The Author

Martin Klein was born in Lübeck in 1962. He first studied sports but soon changed directions and studied landscape design. In 1988 he won a stipendium from the "Cultural Senate" of Berlin, and another in 1996. His first children's book appeared in 1990. Today Martin Klein is a freelance author, landscaper and trainer of a handball team in Kreuzberg, Berlin. His special interest in trees, books and balls is incorporated in his everyday life.